Gaming Life Chapter Three: The Quest for Truth

Just like in the game, Rick starts to question the motives of the people around him.

Alexander Martin
14 min readNov 25, 2022

--

I sat in Heather’s office, waiting for her to return from talking to one of the others. She had changed my schedule for the week again.

Last week she wanted me to come and listen to one of the few conference calls. Today she had something planned.

“Sorry,” Heather said as she entered the office and closed the door.

“No problem,” I said.

Heather sat down and stared over at me. “So, tomorrow I have to go the head office in Atlanta,” Heather stated.

“Okay,” I nodded.

“I want you to come with me,” Heather smiled.

“Really?” I asked.

“Yeah, I have been talking you up,” Heather said. “You’ve done well, a lot better than I thought you would if I have to be honest.”

“You expected me to fail?” I asked. Curious about what she had thought would happen.

“Yes,” Heather replied bluntly. “I thought you would do just the average, but you proved me wrong.”

I liked her bluntness. It was good to hear that I was doing something good. I felt like I was excelling, but to…

--

--