Photo 5082423 / Beautiful © Tea | Dreamstime.com

The Lonely Road

Just a lonely stretch of highway and speeding. Nothing to see here, officer!

Alexander Martin
15 min readJan 28, 2022

--

The white lines on the highway began to dull me to sleep as I drove back home. Damn holidays. I thought. But it was family. What was I supposed to do? Stay home? They would have had my head.

I turned the music up. The thumping bass should keep me up until I get to the next rest stop. On the three-lane road, I was the only one driving that I could see in both directions.

I decided to hit the gas, maybe cut my time by a little. I looked down at the speedometer… 85, 90, 95, 100mph. I decided to hold it there.

If one of the state troopers came along. I should have enough time to back it down. I felt a little more awake as I sped along. Then I saw it. The sign for the rest stop was only fifteen miles ahead. I backed it down to eight-five as I saw the lights for the rest stop just ahead.

I pulled in and headed straight for the gas station. I slid my card into the slot, punched in my information, and then pumped the gas. I had almost two more hours of driving before I got home.

Shaking my head to try and clear my mind. I looked around at the other people on the road at this time of the morning. Looking down at my watch, it was almost two in the morning.

--

--